‘All Blacks Don’t Cry’

I stumbled across this video yesterday, about John Kirwan and his personal experience with depression. He’s written a book of the same title, which my Mum owns… shall have to snag it off her to read during the summer. Anyway, this dramatised film is just a snapshot – and I encourage you all to watch it. It’s 13 mins long, but it will be an incredibly important 13 mins of your life spent.

The thing about depression is… it’s swept under the carpet. Forced to hide deep within your chest, caged there. To admit you need help is a sign of weakness, right?

Wrong. It’s a sign of strength.

I just hope that this reaches some of you, and if you pass the video/message on, it may reach others too. John Kirwan has done a lot of depression in New Zealand – the website which he supports runs a really useful looking programme called ‘The Journal‘, definitely recommend it.

Everyone deserves to have someone there for them.

And yes, this post may seem a tad out of the blue… but it’s just something that’s struck me as crucially important, and something I feel strongly about. So please, do bear with my sudden seriousness!

Oh, and just randomly, I’ve officially had my first dream – sorry, nightmare! – where the All Blacks lost the World Cup. Talk about depression.

Sorry, couldn’t help the black humour.

(Oiii, my mind…!)

Love yourselves,
Bri xx

Leave a Reply

