NaNoWriMo 2011, Here I Come!

Firstly – phew, long time no see! I know, I know… I’m terrible πŸ˜› In my (somewhat lame) defence, study has been incredibly hectic this past month. It’s always the way, everything’s due at the same time… *wipes forehead*

But anyway, I couldn’t resist making time to write this blog post, because…

That’s right! It’s October, which means November is well on it’s way, which means… NaNoWriMo! πŸ˜€

Now, in case any of you have been lucky enough to avoid my rambling on this subject, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. Well, technically, it’s International now, but that just doesn’t have the same ring to it. Yep, so… writing 50,000 words in one month. 30 days. 1,667 words per day, actually.

*beams*

This year is a pretty special one for me, because it will be my 5th NaNo! Of course, I have actually only completed the 50k once, which was last year, but I still gave it a go during the years before that. I just wasn’t as great as multitasking… or something. I failed rather epically. Still, over my past 4 years of NaNo, I’ve written over 75k, which isn’t too bad considering.

Now that I’ve won once, though, I am determined to cross the finish line again. Which I will be doing this November πŸ˜‰ No doubt about it. My exam timetable and study stuff is being relatively kind to me – more kind than usual! – and I actually will have all my essays and exams over by Nov 7th. Meaning I can focus completely on NaNo after this! So, you see, I really do have no excuse for failing.

I also hope to be able to do a few blog posts during this time. What’s that, I hear? More writing during November? Am I completely nuts, you ask? …well, yes, but I’m sure you already knew that. πŸ˜‰ No, I would just love to be able to blog a bit about how I’m progressing through my novel, what’s exciting, the grief my characters are giving me, how badly I’m procrastinating, when I just want to curl up and die because my whole plot is falling apart… stuff like that. πŸ˜› NaNoWriMo was the reason I joined Twitter this time last year, and so it’s only right to add another social media tool to the mix for this year.

(Yes, I shall still be tweeting during November, naturally. Enthusiastically. And compulsively!)

On top of that, I’m planning on writing a few blog posts before NaNo actually starts.Β I’ll keep a list here, once I’ve actually written them. They’ll be about the planning side of things, the fun preparation… and, about my actual novel, believe it or not! *gasp* I know the genre, but I’m not going to reveal that just yet πŸ˜‰ Love a bit of mystery. I’ve had one mini planning session thus far, at the Borders cafe – writerly much? – but don’t have that much plotted out yet. Just vague snatches of inspiration, moments in time that I know I want to include, somehow…

And that’s what makes this truly exciting. Anything is possible, at this time. I love it! There’s a whole world out there, just waiting for me to dive into, to fall in love with the characters, and to tell their stories in the best way I can.

I know, however, that there is no way I can do this without all of your support. You know, checking up on me, asking me how much I’ve written today, encouragement, threats, guilt tripping… it’s all (mostly!) welcome πŸ˜‰ I truly believe that’s why I won last year – I told pretty much everyone what I was doing, and so I had no choice but to finish it, otherwise I’d have to live with the eternal shame of failing. Clearly not an option!

Of course, I would just LOVE it if some of you actually decided to do it with me! I will unashamedly boast now and say that I’ve managed to convert two of my real life friends into giving NaNo a go, one in 2009 and the other in 2010. Gee, better not ruin my record now… anyone keen? πŸ˜€ Check out the NaNoWriMo website for more details – you might want to wait until tomorrow, because the awesome OLL team are launching the all new and improved website! *dances*

You know you want to.

My posts about NaNoWriMo 2011 so far…

Hope that you enjoy the ride with me – it will be an epic November, I can promise you that πŸ˜€

21 days to go!
Have fun!
Bri xx

Episode VI: The Return Of TheΒ Blog

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011, Here I Come!

  1. Good luck to you! I love the comic!

  2. Alexandra says:

    Will see you there ( again). I followed you on twitter a year ago and you remained on my contact list since then πŸ™‚ You won’t be interested in my twitter as it’s mainly in Russian but I’ll do NaNo in English and will possibly figure out the way to share the experience.
    Good luck with it!
    Do you already know what you’ll write about?
    It will be my second one, I won my first NaNo last year.

    • brionyjae says:

      Hi there! I definitely remember you!! πŸ™‚ I think I still follow you – I don’t mind the odd bit of Russian in my feed, it’s pretty to look at… hehee. Could you flick me a tweet just to make sure I still follow you? ^^ YAY for first winners last year, I bet we can both cross the finish line again this year!! I have a vague idea – I have characters which are pretty clear in my head, but no much of a plot yet. I’m sure it will come together eventually… how about you? πŸ™‚ Good luck to you!

      • Alexandra says:

        OMG, I just checked and you are indeed following me. Thanks:) you can probably understand some Russian by now, hehe πŸ™‚
        Of course if I tweet about NaNo it will be in English.

        I have just the opposite – I have a plot ( just appeared out of nowhere and made me watch it develop in my head) but the characters are totally flat, still transparent nobodies. Oh, I’m very excited, can’t wait really. I feel like those horses before the run ( although I’m not sure what they actually feel, but I bet they can’t wait to start running)

      • brionyjae says:

        Hehee, it’s no problem at all! We actually just had the Russian Rugby team in my home town for the Rugby World Cup, so that was cool πŸ˜€

        Oh! hahaaa. We need to fuse our brains together, then we’d be all set for NaNo! Ah well, we’ve still got plenty of time… ish πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

