A Mini (and most likely amusing) Exam Rant.

Yes. One of those.

I’m sorry, but I just can’t hold it in any longer! *sighs dramatically* Perhaps some of you shall sympathise with me, or just find my entire agony amusing. I don’t mind, either way 😉

There I was, all enthused – in a way – about taking my last ever undergraduate degree exam. It was for Classics, a Greek Mythology paper. And yes, the material was super interesting, even if I kind of already knew a lot of it. But… the thing about my lecturer is that he is rather pedantic about the way he does things. Like, the way he words essay questions are just that tiny bit more confusing than they need to be. Our graded essays always have those wee comments about grammar. All that.

Don’t get me wrong, I love him as a lecturer. And a person, I suppose, if that’s not too creepy 😛

…however, after today, I do not love him as an examiner!

He decided to give us a multi-choice section. Which I hate, religiously, at the best of times. Seriously, give me an essay question that I can far more easily waffle my way through any day. To me, multi-choice is dicey. Yes, you have the answer right there in front of you, but Merlin is it difficult to tell which is the correct one, sometimes!

This particular multi-choice section was just so freaking nasty. We had questions with an outrageous amount of options – the longest having options (a) to (m) – and the difference between some of these options… far out!! Miniscule, absolutely pedantic! Like, I forgot to bring my Sherlock Holmes magifying glass to the exam, sorry. I felt like bursting into tears, or ripping my hair out, or something equally unproductive, about halfway through my initial read-through of it.

I memorized one of the questions just to share with you lot. Aren’t I considerate?

(And yes, I was totally planning this blog post during the exam – a pleasant distraction in an attempt to calm myself.)

In the story of the banquet of Mekone:

(a) we can read an aition of tragedy
(b) we can read an aition of sacrifice
(c) Zeus was angered
(d) spaces between gods and humans are made clearer
(e) spaces between gods and humans and animals are made clearer
(f) spaces between humans and animals are made clearer
(g) all of the above except (a)
(h) all of the above except (b)
(i) all of the above except (c)
(j) all of the above except (d)
(k) all of the above except (e)
(l) all of the above except (f)

I. Kid. You. Not.

Yeah.

My answers:

(a) Errrr, mind blank – what’s an ‘aition’!?!
(b) What the hell is going on with options (d) to (f)!?!
(c) All of the ‘all of the above’ options don’t even make freaking logical sense! In relation to each other. AGH.

So, yeah. In an exam situation, where I have just over a minute to answer these multi-choice questions, I do not have time to be working out what the options even mean. Or the brain power. Then there were those questions asked in a negative format, which always messes with my mind – like, “What is not associated with this?”, with the whole “all of the above” and even “none of the above” thrown in to complicate it even further. Ahh, and then those awesome subjective questions, like “Which is the odd one out?” I could argue for many of them to be the odd one out, it all just depends!

Le sigh.

I believe I took a stab for (l), if you were curious. I don’t really want to remember 😀

What really screwed me over was the fact that it was the first section of the exam, and so I had worked myself up into such a ball of stress that I just was really not in the exam-mode that I usually am. As such, I don’t feel that I did as well as I would have liked. The words weren’t flowing, the ideas weren’t connecting. I know that I’m my own worst critic, so hopefully I will have done enough not to affect my overall grade for the paper too much.

So yes. There really is only one response to an exam this gruesome.

Hells to the yes.

Thank you for indulging my rant. I’m totally over it now 😉

Have fun!
Bri xx

P.S. Happy 50th Blog Post!

Leave a Reply

