Episode VI: The Return Of The Blog

*blinks*

Erm, yes.

It’s been about… two or three months since I last updated. And before I get any further, I believe it is necessary for me to throw myself upon the ground in front of you and beg for forgiveness! I really don’t have much of an excuse – at first, I was taking a break from all types of writing, after successfully completely NaNoWriMo (oops, forgot to tell you…!). And then, my summer jobs started up, picking cherries and working at the bookstore. And THEN… I just got lazy.

Heh.

But I’m back now! I promise… 😛

So, what’s new with me? Well, to tell you all ‘officially’… I finished NaNoWriMo!! 🙂 I believe I finished at around 11pm on the 30th of November, so I was cutting it fine… but hey, I had it all under control! My novel, however, is far from finished. For one, I discovered that I had far too much plot, and so I think my novel still needs around another 50-60k to have actually finished telling the story. Then, of course, I have to get onto all the editing… but I’ll think of that later. I left it alone for a long while, and actually just read it through for the first time the other day. I was pleasantly surprised how ‘not-bad’ it was – I mean, it still needs A LOT of work, but I can’t help loving my characters, and their stories. I have a (vague) plan to write that extra 50-60k at some point during the year, preferably before this year’s NaNoWriMo… but we’ll see. Darn study might get in the way.

After November… well, as I said before, I then worked my way through a pretty good summer. Cherry picking is always a massively fun job, even if this season was a little disappointing. And the bookstore that I work in is just brilliant – I’ve worked there for around five years now, at first just part-time, and now it’s just during the summer break. I just adore all of my fellow staff members, and the staff discount is far too tempting…! It was also lovely to spend time with my family, who I only get to see during breaks from university, as they live in a different town – different island, actually! 😛 – from my university.

But yes, now it’s that time of year again – study time! This year, I’m beginning my first year in postgraduate study in English Literature. I am, simply put, terrified! Hahaa. And excited. There is a TON of reading to do, which I have thankfully already started (but haven’t read nearly enough yet!), and a whole research essay of our own doing. It’s been incredibly difficult trying to decide what I will be focusing on – I have had so many ideas, so much that I love, that I could spend hours pouring over… but I think that I finally have a pretty good idea of what text I will write on: T. S. Eliot’s “Prufrock and Other Observations”. Gosh, I adore T. S. Eliot, especially this group of poems. His way of writing, the unique and sometimes strange images that just work, the way the words sound when read aloud… squeeee! I feel like an uber English nerd, but I can’t help it. So yes, that will be very exciting indeed 🙂

So, that’s where I’m at right now. See, you guys barely missed anything 😛

I promise that I will (try!) to update a lot more often, as often as I have something interesting to say. I’m still meaning to blog a bit more about my ‘obsessions’, and all of that, which will hopefully be interesting to you. Who knows, maybe I’ll find another ’30-Day’ type Challenge to keep you all amused.

Thanks for sticking with me!

Have fun!
Bri xx

P.S. You might have noticed that my blog looks a little different to what it did last time – I decided that what better time than now to change to a new theme. Do you like it? I found it rather enchanting 🙂

One thought on “Episode VI: The Return Of The Blog

  1. […] Episode VI: The Return Of The Blog (The Aftermath!) […]

Leave a Reply

