Tinkering Away At A Few Film Reviews

In my humble opinion, it’s a pretty good time for films at the moment. Perhaps it’s just that time of year, but I found myself wanting to go to about a bajillion films in the cinemas recently – something that doesn’t happen all that often for me. I mean, I do go to the cinema quite regularly, but the majority of the films I watch are at home, on DVD. So in honour of the recently released films that I’ve gone and enjoyed on the silver screen, I thought I’d make a few comments about them here – and hopefully encourage you to see them, too.

(I apologise in advance for any spoilers for those who may not have seen the films!)

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

I was originally drawn to this film because of the massive range of absolutely stunning actors – I mean, Gary Oldman, Colin Firth, Benedict Cumberbatch, Tom Hardy… all in one movie? Yes please! They do not disappoint, either. What immediately strikes you about this film is that there is much less dialogue than one is used to in a film – less dialogue than an actor is used to as well, I’d imagine. Here, the actors master the art of saying things without words, and I believe it is far more impacting and touching for this. This is especially true in a scene starring our own lovely Benedict Cumberbatch, in which he has to force his (male) partner to leave him. Too beautiful, and heartbreaking! And as for Gary Oldman – well! It’s all the harder for him, as an actor, because his character says even less, shows less expression and feeling, than any other. Deliberate, of course – and the fact that Gary Oldman can still portray the character’s thoughts… I mean, wow. I’d say that it’s all part of the overall slower pacing of the film, which is a refreshing change from other ‘wham-bam’ films these days. And the attention to detail – gosh, am I in awe! All the small noises, such as the scratch of a pen on paper… and then there’s the clever camera shots that show the scene from behind a window, or through a door. It just creates such a perfect atmosphere for the era, and the political climate, that the film is set in. While it is a ‘thinking’ sort of film, I’d definitely recommend it to those who might just wish to watch something with brilliant acting and flimmaking – either way, you’ll love it.

This Means War

Ahaa, Tom Hardy, we meet again… and okay, I’ll admit it – the epicness of Chris Pine and Tom Hardy was definitely the initial lure to this film for me. I just adore both of them, and so the opportunity to see a film where they star opposite each other was simply too awesome to pass up. And, you know, I was right – the chemistry between the pair is sizzling! 😀 (Not to mention Tom Hardy’s English accent sticking out due to all the American-ness around him… *drools*). Reese Witherspoon was pretty charming alongside the boys – I mean, I liked her in ‘Walk The Line’, and I’m sure she’s been in something else I liked too, so she’s quite easy to enjoy. And, yeah, the plot may have been somewhat of a typical romantic-comedy – not usually my thing, although there are exceptions – but these actors definitely gave the film that extra ‘something’ which made it worth the rom-com plotline. It’s like… ‘Pretty Woman’, I never expected to like, but somehow… I can’t help loving it. Same with ‘Notting Hill’ – Hugh Grant, squeeee… but I digress. This film did have its cheesy moments, but I couldn’t have expected anything different, and they were healthily balanced out by some delicious action sequences, as well as a lot of hilarity! The only thing that I was slightly disappointed by was the ending, in the way it tried just that tiny bit too hard, in my opinion, to tie up all of the loose ends. But then again, I am particularly picky about endings, and they rarely satisfy me completely, so it’s no big deal. Definitely an entertaining watch, for both guys and gals!

Hugo

Whatever you think you know about Hugo… it is far more amazing than you could possibly expect or imagine. Before I watched this piece of art, I naively thought that it was a kids’ film, and for ‘some reason’ was a big hit at the Oscars. However, now I see why this film received the number of Oscars that it did – and it’s not even really a film for kids, despite the principle actors being children. This storyline and its characters offer something to every kind of audience – beautifully dealt with, and easily stepping away from what could have been a clichéd ‘message’. Asa Butterfield, the boy the film focuses around, is an absolutely stunning wee actor – I’m completely in love! 😀 I totally would have given him the Oscar, had he been nominated. He just put the right amount of emotion into it all. Too adorable! His counterpart, Chloë Moretz, was also a joy to watch – my kind of heroine, for sure! Now, I chose to see this film in 3D, which is saying something in itself – I’m one of the unfortunate who have to wear glasses anyway, so when I go to a 3D film… I’m wearing two pairs of glasses. Terribly tedious and unattractive! 😛 However, this was completely worth it – the location shots of Paris and of the clock tower were sights to behold, and actually, the cinematography as a whole was beautiful. This setting, combined with the heartfelt acting, honestly made me feel awed and marvelled by the end. Breathtaking. Unlike the theme at the heart of Hugo, Scorsese’s film needs no fixing – it’s absolutely perfect.

Seen these films too? Have I made you want to see them? Share your thoughts!

Have fun, filmgoers!
Bri xx

Leave a Reply

